top of page

Student Choice in the Classroom

Updated: May 4, 2020

Using student choice in the classroom is key way to get students to "buy-in" to the learning in the classroom and take personal ownership of their learning. Student choice also allows teachers to differentiate their teaching based on the different learning needs of their students.





The Benefits of Student Choice

When students have choice they "buy in" and take personal ownership of their learning. It also makes the learning feel authentic and meaningful to the student because they were given the ability to control their learning. This "buy in" creates meaning which overtime creates a life-long curiosity.


Another major benefit of student choice is that this allows the teacher to differentiate teaching based on students individual learning needs. Students will use choice to select the way to show their learning in the way that is most comfortable or interesting to them. All student learn in their own way and need to show their individual skills and interests. Providing student choice allows this by valuing learning as a process not the same end product.


Choice in the Elementary Classroom

When I offer choice in my classroom, I let students choose a way to share their learning by giving them several different options. Each of the options meet a set criteria so that all students are meeting the required standard but they are able to choose the option that is the most enjoyable to them.


One of the ways I offer choice to my students is through technology. We use a program called Exact Path in my school. This program uses the testing data to meet each student where they are in math and reading. My school requires each student to spend 20 minutes per week on each subject. In my class, this is one of the options during workshop time. I also use the online program called Epic! which has thousands of books that students can read or that can be listened. Students must reach their required time in each subject over the course of a week during our workshop time. When they complete it throughout the week is their choice. Fridays I reserve for students to make up any time that they still owe throughout the week.


Choice Boards

Another way to use student choice in the classroom is through choice boards. A great time to use choice boards is during workshop time. I make choice boards for my students using several different standards that the class is working on. I can also modify the choice boards to meet individual students needs.


I also use choice boards with my families for "weekend homework". This is a fun way to engage families in learning at home. I like to have my families participate in learning that applies the concept we are learning at school in a meaningful way. Examples include:


  • Making grocery lists

  • Adding up items on a grocery list

  • Helping with laundry and sorting the colors into groups

  • Going on a nature walk and counting how many bugs you find


Below you can find several of my FREE choice boards available on TPT! Share with me other ways you have used choice in your classroom by adding a comment 😃









6 views0 comments
  • Instagram
  • Teachers Pay Teachers
  • Pinterest
  • LinkedIn

© 2020 //The Small Moments Teacher//Anna Hagstrom// All Rights Reserved 

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy

Educational Blogger|Teacher Freebies

bottom of page